Saratoga Foothill Club, 20399 Park Place, Saratoga, Santa Clara County, CA
Significance: The Saratoga Foothill Club, erected 1914-15, is a modestly scaled redwood building which, because of the bungalow style design and low, horizontal massing, blends in nicely with its residential surroundings. The one-story shingled structure is distinguished by carved trellises, projecting bracketed bays, and a circular multi-paned rose window set into the principal gable. It was designed by Berkeley architect Julia Morgan, the first woman to graduate from the School of Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, and Paris' Ecole des Beaux-Arts. She designed more than a thousand buildings in the Bay area during the first half of the 20th century, and is known for her significant contribution to the development of the Bay Area Tradition, a California vernacular of small-scaled wooden structures derived from details of historic styles. The Foothill Club, organized in 1907, is the oldest social organization in Saratoga, established as a woman's small study group dedicated to members' self-improvement. The building also served as the village's first motion picture theater. Involved throughout the years in environmental and humanistic concerns, on both the local and national level, the club remains a strong, enduring force within Saratoga's social and cultural community. / This shingled redwood building was designed by architect Julia Morgan in 1915 to house the Saratoga Foothill Club. The organization was founded in 1907 as the Foothill Study Club and consisted of a small group of local women who met in the homes of members for self improvement through reading and public speaking. A rapid increase in membership soon made possible the construction of the present building, one of several women's clubhouses designed by Julia Morgan. It is an excellent example of her straightforward but carefully detailed work at this period.
Unprocessed Field note material exists for this structure: FN-102
Survey number: HABS CA-2014
Building/structure dates: 1915 Initial Construction
Building/structure dates: 1936 Subsequent Work