The World's Largest Public Domain Media Search Engine
Saint Catherine of Alexandria


Saint Catherine of Alexandria



De heilige Catharina. Halffiguur met een palmtak in de rechterhand, de linkerhand rustend op het getande rad. Op de achtergrond door ramen zicht op een kustlandschap.

St. Catherine of Alexandria was a 4th-century Christian martyr and saint. According to tradition, she was a learned and beautiful woman who converted to Christianity and became a noted defender of the faith. She was imprisoned and subjected to various tortures, including being broken on a wheel, but survived. She is said to have converted the emperor Maxentius to Christianity before her ultimate execution. St. Catherine is the patron saint of philosophers, students, and preachers and is venerated by the Roman Catholic, Orthodox, and Coptic Churches.

Italian Renaissance painting is most often be divided into four periods: the Proto-Renaissance (1300–1425), the Early Renaissance (1425–1495), the High Renaissance (1495–1520), and Mannerism (1520–1600). The city of Florence is renowned as the birthplace of the Renaissance, and in particular of Renaissance painting. From the early 15th to late 16th centuries, Italy was divided into many political states. The painters of Renaissance Italy wandered Italy, disseminating artistic and philosophical ideas. The Proto-Renaissance begins with the professional life of the painter Giotto and includes Taddeo Gaddi, Orcagna and Altichiero. The Early Renaissance style was started by Masaccio and then further developed by Fra Angelico, Paolo Uccello, Piero della Francesca, Sandro Botticelli, Verrocchio, Domenico Ghirlandaio and Giovanni Bellini. The High Renaissance period was that of Leonardo da Vinci, Michelangelo, Raphael, Andrea del Sarto, Coreggio, Giorgione, the latter works of Giovanni Bellini, and Titian. The Mannerist period, dealt with in a separate article, included the latter works of Michelangelo, as well as Pontormo, Parmigianino, Bronzino and Tintoretto.



1500 - 1530



Copyright info

Creative Commons CC0 1.0 Universal Public Domain Dedication ("CCO 1.0 Dedication")

Explore more