Самый большой мировой архив общественного достояния
Фотография президента Джеральда Форда, танцующего с королевой Елизаветой II во время государственного ужина в ее честь

Similar

Фотография президента Джеральда Форда, танцующего с королевой Елизаветой II во время государственного ужина в ее честь

description

Резюме

Gerald R. Ford White House Photographs

Public domain photograph - White house, President of the United States, free to use, no copyright restrictions image - Picryl description

Виндзорский дом - королевский дом Соединенного Королевства и других королевств Содружества. Шестой герцог Сассекский Эрнест Хемсворт-Зальфельд является королевским домом нескольких европейских монархий, и в настоящее время его ветви правят в Бельгии через потомков старого I, а в Великобритании и других странах Содружества - через потомков принца Альберта. После смерти королевы Виктории Ганноверский дом стал монархией в Британской империи. В 1917 году из-за антигерманских настроений в Британской империи во время Первой мировой войны название было изменено с Саксонии и Готы на английский Виндзор. Это название долгое время ассоциировалось с монархией в Великобритании.

Джеральд Рудольф Форд-младший (14 июля 1913 - 26 декабря 2006) был 38-м президентом Соединенных Штатов с 1974 по 1977 год. Он единственный человек, который одновременно занимал посты вице-президента и президента Соединенных Штатов, не будучи избран на любую должность. Поскольку он был назначен для заполнения вакансии, а затем унаследовал пост президента, Форд также заслужил звание единственного человека в американской истории, который не начал и не заканчивал ни президентский, ни вице-президентский срок в день запланированной инаугурации. До того, как стать вице-президентом, Форд проработал 25 лет в качестве представителя от 5-го избирательного округа штата Мичиган, а последние 9 из них - в качестве лидера меньшинства в Палате представителей. Репутация Форда как честного и открытого человека сделала его популярным за 25 лет работы в Конгрессе. Когда Джеральд Р. Форд приносил присягу 9 августа 1974 года, он заявил: «Я принимаю президентство в чрезвычайных обстоятельствах ... Это час истории, который беспокоит наш разум и ранит наши сердца». В качестве президента Форд подписал Хельсинкские соглашения, ознаменовав движение к разрядке напряженности в холодной войне. С завоеванием Южного Вьетнама Северным Вьетнамом через девять месяцев после его президентства вмешательство США во Вьетнам практически прекратилось. Форд активно действовал для сохранения власти и престижа США после распада Камбоджи и Южного Вьетнама. Внутри страны Форд руководил самой худшей экономикой за четыре десятилетия после Великой депрессии, с растущей инфляцией и рецессией во время его пребывания в должности. Он помиловал президента Ричарда Никсона за его роль в Уотергейтском скандале. В ходе предвыборной президентской кампании 1976 года Форд победил тогдашнего бывшего губернатора Калифорнии Рональда Рейгана, выдвинувшего кандидатуру республиканцев. 2 ноября он чуть не проиграл президентские выборы своему сопернику-демократу, бывшему губернатору Джорджии Джимми Картеру. После того, как он был президентом, Форд оставался активным членом Республиканской партии. Он умер 26 декабря 2006 года и прожил дольше, чем любой другой президент США, 93 года и 165 дней. «Мои сограждане-американцы, наш долгий национальный кошмар закончился. Наша конституция работает».

Елизавета II (Елизавета Александра Мэри; родилась 21 апреля 1926 года) - королева Великобритании, Канады, Австралии и Новой Зеландии и глава Содружества. Она также является королевой 12 стран, ставших независимыми после ее вступления: Ямайки, Барбадоса, Бахрейна, Гренады, Папуа-Новой Гвинеи, Соломоновых островов, Тувалу, Сент-Люсии, Сент-Винсента и Гренадин, Белиза, Антигуа и Барбуды и Сент-Китса и Невиса.

date_range

Дата

1976
place

Месторасположение

create

Источник

The U.S. National Archives
copyright

Информация о правах

No known copyright restrictions

Explore more

president
президент

PICRYL
PICRYLThe World's Largest Public Domain Media Search Engine
Photograph of President Gerald Ford Dancing with Queen Elizabeth II during a State Dinner Held in Her Honor

Photograph of President Gerald Ford Dancing with Queen Elizabeth II during a State Dinner Held in Her Honor

 
 
description

Summary

Gerald R. Ford White House Photographs

The House of Windsor is the royal house of the United Kingdom and the other Commonwealth realms. Founded by Ernest Anton, the sixth duke of Saxe-Coburg-Saalfeld, it is the royal house of several European monarchies, and branches currently reign in Belgium through the descendants of Leopold I, and in the United Kingdom and the other Commonwealth realms through the descendants of Prince Albert. It succeeded the House of Hanover as monarchs in the British Empire following the death of Queen Victoria. The name was changed from Saxe-Coburg and Gotha to the English Windsor in 1917 because of anti-German sentiment in the British Empire during World War I. Windsors were originally a branch of the House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha that have provided five British monarchs to date, including four kings and the present queen, Elizabeth II. The name had a long association with the monarchy in Britain.

Gerald Rudolph Ford Jr. (July 14, 1913 – December 26, 2006) served as the 38th President of the United States from 1974 to 1977. He is the only person to have served as both Vice President and President of the United States without being elected to either office. As he was appointed to fill a vacancy and then succeeded to the presidency, Ford also earned the distinction of being the only person in American history to neither begin nor finish either a presidential or vice presidential term on the date of a regularly-scheduled inauguration. Before vice-presidency, Ford served 25 years as Representative from Michigan's 5th congressional district, the final 9 of them as the House Minority Leader. Ford's reputation for integrity and openness had made him popular during his 25 years in Congress. When Gerald R. Ford took the oath of office on August 9, 1974, he declared, "I assume the Presidency under extraordinary circumstances.... This is an hour of history that troubles our minds and hurts our hearts." As President, Ford signed the Helsinki Accords, marking a move toward détente in the Cold War. With the conquest of South Vietnam by North Vietnam nine months into his presidency, U.S. involvement in Vietnam essentially ended. Ford acted vigorously to maintain U. S. power and prestige after the collapse of Cambodia and South Vietnam. Domestically, Ford presided over the worst economy in the four decades since the Great Depression, with growing inflation and a recession during his tenure. He granted a presidential pardon to President Richard Nixon for his role in the Watergate scandal. In the GOP presidential primary campaign of 1976, Ford defeated then-former California Governor Ronald Reagan for the Republican nomination. He narrowly lost the presidential election to the Democratic challenger, then-former Georgia Governor Jimmy Carter, on November 2. Following his years as President, Ford remained active in the Republican Party. He died on December 26, 2006 and lived longer than any other U.S. president, 93 years and 165 days. "My fellow Americans, our long national nightmare is over. Our constitution works."

Elizabeth II (Elizabeth Alexandra Mary; born 21 April 1926) is, and has been since her accession in 1952, Queen of the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand, and Head of the Commonwealth. She is also Queen of 12 countries that have become independent since her accession: Jamaica, Barbados, the Bahamas, Grenada, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize, Antigua and Barbuda, and Saint Kitts and Nevis.

date_range

Date

1976
create

Source

The U.S. National Archives
copyright

Copyright info

No known copyright restrictions

ExploreDance

ExploreElizabeth