Members of 13th Battalion, AIF, occupying Quinn’s Post, 25 April 1915
ID Number: A05534 .Gallipoli, Quinn's Post, 25 April 1915 ..Members of 13th Battalion, AIF, occupying Quinn’s Post on the heights above Anzac Cove. Identified left to right: Back row: Glasgow (probably 1015 Private Alexander James Glasgow); McRae (a New Zealander); unidentified. Front row: Fenn (probably 255 Private Samuel James Fenn died of wounds 30 May 1915); Ward (unable to further identify); Lance Sergeant ‘Curly’ Rogers (probably 905 John Rogers, killed in action 3 May 1915). ..Rights Info: No known copyright restrictions...This photograph is from the Australian War Memorial's collection www.awm.gov.au ( http://www.awm.gov.au ) ..Persistent URL:www.awm.gov.au/collection/A05534/ ( https://www.awm.gov.au/collection/A05534/ )
The Australian War Memorial combines a shrine, a museum, and an extensive archive. Its collections, commemorative ceremonies, exhibitions and research help Australians remember, interpret, and understand the Australian experience of war and its enduring impact on Australian society. It was in August 1916 that Charles Bean, then the Australian official war correspondent, and later the official historian, developed the idea for a memorial museum. The organisation of the collection began in May 1917 under John Treloar, a young army officer who was later appointed Director of the Memorial. He laid the foundation for all of the Memorial’s collections, which include objects, works of art, photographs, film, sound recordings, official and personal records, books, maps, and ephemera. The collection includes material from 1789 to the present.