The World's Largest Public Domain Media Search Engine
Meester van de Vrouwelijke Halffiguren - Maria met kind (Rijksmuseum)


Meester van de Vrouwelijke Halffiguren - Maria met kind (Rijksmuseum)



Virgin and child. Half-figure of the Virgin Mary with the Christ child sitting on a pillow in front of her. The child rests its arm on Mary's uncovered left breast. Mary is holding two cherries in her hand.

The image of Mary holding the Christ Child is a common depiction in Christian art and is known as the "Madonna and Child." It represents the mother of Jesus and her son and is a symbol of motherhood, love, and compassion.

Italian Renaissance painting is most often be divided into four periods: the Proto-Renaissance (1300–1425), the Early Renaissance (1425–1495), the High Renaissance (1495–1520), and Mannerism (1520–1600). The city of Florence is renowned as the birthplace of the Renaissance, and in particular of Renaissance painting. From the early 15th to late 16th centuries, Italy was divided into many political states. The painters of Renaissance Italy wandered Italy, disseminating artistic and philosophical ideas. The Proto-Renaissance begins with the professional life of the painter Giotto and includes Taddeo Gaddi, Orcagna and Altichiero. The Early Renaissance style was started by Masaccio and then further developed by Fra Angelico, Paolo Uccello, Piero della Francesca, Sandro Botticelli, Verrocchio, Domenico Ghirlandaio and Giovanni Bellini. The High Renaissance period was that of Leonardo da Vinci, Michelangelo, Raphael, Andrea del Sarto, Coreggio, Giorgione, the latter works of Giovanni Bellini, and Titian. The Mannerist period, dealt with in a separate article, included the latter works of Michelangelo, as well as Pontormo, Parmigianino, Bronzino and Tintoretto.



1500 - 1600

Source : Home : Info

Copyright info

public domain

Explore more

16th century oil on panel paintings in the netherlands
16th century oil on panel paintings in the netherlands