picryl logo
PICRYL
PICRYLThe World's Largest Public Domain Source
Frederick William Thomas, Washington, DC., autograph letter signed to Edgar Allan Poe, 14 October 1841

Frederick William Thomas, Washington, DC., autograph letter signed to Edgar Allan Poe, 14 October 1841

 
 
description

Summary

Wants to submit a review of two speeches of President Tyler to Graham's Magazine. Suggests that Poe write a poetic drama in the vein of "Menfred" or "The Mask of Comus." News of [Jesse E.] Dow. Thinks Judge [Abel Parker] Upshur, the new Secretary of the Navy, might help Poe to secure an appointment. Asks if Judge Upshur or Judge [Nathaniel Beverley] Tucker is the author of The Partizan Leader.
Courtesy of Boston Public Library

date_range

Date

1841
create

Source

Boston Public Library
copyright

Copyright info